512.263.1888

Texas Hunters Education Class

 

Dates: Sunday, August 20th, 2017 and Sunday, August 27th, 2017

Time: 9:00am-2:00pm

Location: Sportsman’s Finest

Cost: $15 (Cash Only Payment)

Note: Please call Sportsman’s Finest to make a reservation, space is limited.

Contact: 512-263-1888, please contact Chris Kirk for reservations

Note: Please do not bring any firearms, Refreshments and snack will be provided

Attendees Should Bring: Pencil or Pen, Notebook, Lunch (if you desire)

 

Instructor:

Vincent Lecca, CPh-T

  TPWD Area Chief,

  Angler Education Instructor &

  Hunter Education Instructor 

 

Who needs to take a Texas Hunting Education course?

You need education if you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971.

 

What does the course cover?

The classroom course covers the core standards in firearm, hunting and outdoor safety, hunting responsibilities and wildlife conservation. Some classroom courses are extended to cover additional topics such as bow hunting, muzzleloaders, outdoor survival and first aid.

 

How long is the course?

There are 3 courses taught by TPWD Certified Instructors. The Basic Course is a maximum of 6 hours classroom instruction. This time does not include registration, breaks, test administration and certification card distribution. 

 

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department requires:

You must be at least 9 years old to take an online course.

 

What is the cost of the course?

The classroom and field courses provided by hunter education instructors cost $15 per person. 

 

Can I fail this course?

Yes, you can fail the course due to unsatisfactory knowledge, skill or attitude as evaluated by your instructor. The minimum score on the final exam is 75 percent. However, if you achieve a higher score, but are determined to lack safe skills in live-firing or field exercises, or as a result of classroom disruptions, attitude, or incomplete attendance, you may fail the course.

 

Do I need the Hunter Education Certificate to purchase a hunting license?

No, you are not required to show your certification when you purchase a license, but proof of certification or "deferral" is required to be on your person while hunting

 

I'm a bow hunter. Do I need the same certification?

Additional bow hunter education courses are available. This does not replace hunter education. Texas hunters who fall in the required age classes must complete Hunter Education regardless of the type of sporting arm used or species hunted. Bow hunter education is mandatory in some states and provinces. Bow hunter education is a two-day course.

 

I am in the military/law enforcement. Does the law still apply to me?

 Yes, it is a state law and there is no exemption from the Hunter Education certification requirement for hunting in Texas.

 

I have a license to carry a concealed handgun. Do I still need the certification?

 Yes, some of the safety training may be similar; however, Hunter Education includes many topics that are not part of handgun education. There are no exemptions from this requirement.

 I took Hunter Education in another state. Do I still need to take the Texas course?

 No, Texas recognizes Hunter Education certificates from all other states and provinces. You will need to carry a proof of that certification on your person while hunting in Texas. We cannot duplicate Hunter Education certification from other states and provinces; you will need to contact the agency that regulates your certification. 

 

 I want to hunt out-of-state. Will my Texas Hunter Education certificate be recognized?

Yes, all states and provinces requiring hunter education recognize your Texas certification. You must carry your certification card with you as proof.

 

For additional questions please call the Instructor:

 

Contact information:

 

 Vincent Lecca, CPh-T

 TPWD Area Chief,

 Angler Education Instructor &

 Hunter Education Instructor 

 512 627 7723 cell

 

Subscribe to Our Email Newsletter: Stay In Touch!
×
×